Tulsa Hurricane
Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com
Team C-USA:Dedicated to Excellence

C-USA logo
Conference USA On The Map

Excellence every day. For Conference USA, dedication to excellence is a common thread in athletics, academics and in the community, and the guiding initiative for the league's promising future. Conference USA features 12 nationally prominent, tradition-rich members in East Carolina, Houston, Marshall, Memphis, Rice, SMU, Southern Miss, Tulane, Tulsa, UAB, UCF and UTEP. This combination enhances men's and women's programs that are steeped in athletic success and academic prowess. Together, we are dedicated to excellence, integrity and leadership in athletics, academics and in our communities.

All C-USA institutions sponsor Division I-A football, along with several other men's and women's athletic programs, many of which compete regularly for NCAA Championships. C-USA sponsors competition in 19 sports - nine for men (baseball, basketball, cross country, football, golf, soccer, tennis and indoor and outdoor track and field) and 10 for women (basketball, cross country, golf, softball, soccer, swimming and diving, tennis, indoor and outdoor track and field and volleyball).

The league sponsors numerous academic awards, including the Commissioner's Honor Roll and the Commissioner's Academic Medal, indicative of outstanding achievement in the classroom. C-USA annually awards six postgraduate scholarships, along with the Sport Academic Award, Scholar Athletes of the Year and the Institutional Academic Excellence Award.

Conference USA performers have achieved great success in competition, placing the league among the top conferences in the nation.

• Rated among the top seven conferences in the nation
• 33 teams have earned bowl bids
• Member of the Bowl Championship Series
• Bowl ties-ins with the AutoZone Liberty Bowl (champion), GMAC Bowl, Sheraton Hawai'i Bowl, Fort Worth Bowl, New Orleans Bowl, the Houston Bowl and the Birmingham Bowl

Men's Basketball
• Consistently rated as one of the top basketball leagues in the country
• 72 postseason teams (40 NCAA and 32 NIT)
• Strong fan support, drawing more than one million fans each season
• Two Final Four teams
• Five Elite Eight NCAA Tournament teams
• One NIT Champion
• Four NIT semifinalists

Women's Basketball
• 42 NCAA Tournament appearances
• 24 WNIT appearances
• One team in the NCAA Sweet 16
• Two WNIT semifinalists
• Strong fan support, ranking among the nation's top 10 conferences in attendance
• Setting league attendance record for three straight seasons

• 35 NCAA appearances
• Two College World Series appearances in 2005 and 2001
• Seven Super Regional appearances
• Has produced at least four NCAA teams in each of the last five seasons

In addition, 27 volleyball teams, 34 men's and women's soccer teams and 17 softball teams have earned NCAA Tournament bids. C-USA has sent three men's soccer teams to the NCAA College Cup, five softball teams to the Women's College World Series and three volleyball teams to the Sweet 16. The league has also had three national champions in NCAA track and field competition, one national champion in diving and numerous NCAA individual and team competitors in cross country, golf, swimming, tennis and track and field. Overall, Conference USA teams and individuals have made more than 420 NCAA appearances.

C-USA institutions are among the nation's best in academic performance among student-athletes, bolstered by the fact that student-athletes at league schools have a higher graduation rate than the general student population. Among C-USA's 5,000 student-athletes, there are champions off the playing field as well. In 11 years, 89 student-athletes earned national ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America honors, while 282 were named All-District. In addition, more than 11,000 student-athletes have been named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll or received the Commissioner's Academic Medal, indicative of outstanding achievement in the classroom.

C-USA enjoys significant television exposure through its partnerships with ESPN Inc. and College Sports Television Networks (CSTV). The league entered into long-term agreements with both ESPN and CSTV, which, combined, provides C-USA with significant national and regional exposure for football, men's and women's basketball, and all other conference sports. Additionally, the CSTV agreement includes video-on-demand, Internet, broadband, national over-the-air and satellite radio, and wireless distribution as well as corporate marketing rights, and website production through CSTV Online, a subsidiary of CSTV. The agreement with ESPN extends the conference's current regular season football package to include the broadcast of the conference's Football Championship Game. It also encompasses distribution of men's basketball and women's basketball on ESPN/ESPN2 and both tournament championship games.

The conference's footprint is concentrated with 12 members in nine states and a combined area population of nearly 17 million. More than 1.1 million living alumni represent C-USA schools across the nation. With a renewed commitment to community involvement, the conference has begun development of several initiatives to maintain strong ties in C-USA cities, as well as with fans and alumni across the country. C-USA schools also place a priority on giving back to their communities through volunteer service with local and national organizations.

Along with the ACC, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-10 and SEC, Conference USA is one of the seven conferences having significant representation in the NCAA governance structure. The Presidents of the member institutions serve as the league's Board of Directors. Dr. Carol Garrison of UAB began her first year as chair of the Board of Directors in 2005-06 and will serve in that capacity again in 2006-07.

Conference USA was formed in 1995 and quickly emerged as one of the nation's top conferences. The conference unveiled its name, logo and commissioner on April 24, 1995 in Chicago. The league's charter members included Charlotte, Cincinnati, DePaul, Houston, Louisville, Marquette, Memphis, Saint Louis, Southern Miss, Tulane, UAB and USF. Eleven of the institutions began athletic participation in 1995, while Houston joined competition in the fall of 1996.

The league's headquarters were established in Chicago and after nine years, relocated to the current office in Irving, Texas. Britton Banowsky was named Commissioner in October 2002, succeeding Mike Slive, the league's first commissioner.

C-USA added East Carolina (September, 1996) and the United States Military Academy (March, 1997) as football members. ECU began league competition in 1997; Army in 1998 and UAB began football play in 1999. The league added TCU and ECU (1999) for all sports and they began competition in 2001. USF started C-USA football in 2003.

After celebrating its 10th Anniversary during the 2004-05 season, C-USA began a new chapter in 2005-06 when its current membership came together to form the new look of the league.

Since its formation, C-USA has established a strong foundation, an identity and a history that reflects the league's national presence. Eleven years of remarkable history has reinforced the league's position in collegiate athletics, setting the course for the next decade and beyond.