Tulsa Hurricane
Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com


Claire Hulcer, Clifford Marsland and Jared St. John were named 2012-13 C-USA Scholar Athlete of the Year award winners.
Claire Hulcer, Clifford Marsland and Jared St. John were named 2012-13 C-USA Scholar Athlete of the Year award winners.

July 11, 2013

IRVING, Texas - The University of Tulsa had three student-athletes named recipients of the 2012-13 Conference USA Scholar Athlete of the Year Award for their respective sports, C-USA Commissioner Britton Banowsky announced today. The winners are voted on by the league's Faculty Athletics Representatives.

The C-USA Scholar Athlete of the Year awards are presented to the top student-athletes in each conference-sponsored sport. The award is based on academic achievement (GPA), athletic achievement and service.

Since joining Conference USA in the 2005-06 season, Tulsa now has 22 overall Scholar Athlete of the Year Award winners in eight seasons as a league member.

Junior tennis student-athlete Clifford Marsland (Perth, Australia) was recognized for the second straight year, while women's soccer senior Claire Hulcer (St. Louis, Mo.) and football senior Jared St. John (Edmond, Okla.) also earned scholar athlete honors this year for the Hurricane.

Hulcer, a 5'7" defender, started 54 of 57 games played during her career and scored 24 points on five goals and 14 assists. As a senior, Hulcer played in 21 games and was a first-team all-Conference USA selection and made the C-USA all-tournament team. She was also named to the NCAA Division I All-Central Region first team.

A three-time Conference USA Academic Medalist, Hulcer was a C-USA All-Academic selection for soccer and went on to earn Capital One Academic All-America third team accolades her senior season.

Hulcer maintained a 3.971 grade point average in marketing.

Marsland ended the 2012-13 season with a 21-6 record as five of those wins came against ranked opponents. He finished the campaign ranked No. 48 nationally in the final ITA rankings. A six-time all-conference performer, Marsland was named to All-C-USA Singles First Team and All-C-USA Doubles First Team all three years. He has been named the C-USA Player of the Week six times during career, including twice this past season.

Marsland is a three-time member of the C-USA All-Academic team and has been selected as a two-time ITA Scholar Athlete.

St. John, a 6'2" defensive end on Tulsa's Conference USA Champion football team, earned C-USA second-team all-conference honors in 2012. He played in 22 career games and started 15 contests, including all 14 in 2012 and recorded a total of 49 tackles. St. John led C-USA in quarterback sacks with 11.5 and ranked sixth in tackles for lost yardage with 14 and also ranked 10th for fumbles forced with three.

St. John maintained a 3.430 cumulative grade point average in history/education. He was named to the Conference USA All-Academic football team in 2012, while earning Dean's List honors six times. St. John was also named to the C-USA Commissioners Honor Roll for four years.

Memphis led the league this year with four scholar-athlete winners, while Tulsa was next tied with Rice and UAB with three each.

2013 C-USA Scholar Athlete of the Year
Baseball                        Sam Moll, Memphis
Men's Basketball                Austin Ramljak, Rice
Women's Basketball              Amber Jones, UAB
Men's Cross Country           	Gabriel Cuadra, Rice
Women's Cross Country           Stephanie Ledgerwood, Southern Miss
                                * Risper Kimaiyo, UTEP
Football                        Jared St. John, Tulsa
Men's Golf                      Grant Milner, Memphis
Women's Golf                    Fanny Wolte, East Carolina
Women's Rowing                  Nicole Furmanek, Oklahoma
Men's Soccer                    Mark Sherrod, Memphis
Women's Soccer                   Claire Hulcer, Tulsa
Softball                        Jillian Jelnick, East Carolina
Women's Swimming & Diving   	Kylee Talwar, Rice
Men's Tennis                    * Clifford Marsland, Tulsa
Women's Tennis                  * Courtney Collins, Memphis
Men's Track and Field          	Richard Collingwood, Southern Miss
Women's Track and Field       	* Rhiannon Johns, UAB
Volleyball                      Samantha Serley, UAB

*Repeat Winner