Tulsa Hurricane
Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com

1980 Women's Golf Team
  1980 Women's Golf Team

Sport (years):

Class of 2007

Under the direction of golf coach Dale McNamara, the 1979-80 Tulsa Women's Golf Team brought home the first of what would be four national championships for the sport of women's golf. Team members were LuLong Hartley, Dee Dee Lasker, Sharon Barrett, Lori Castillo, Laura Hurlbut and Kathy Baker. Tulsa won its first four tournaments of the year and captured the AIAW title for five victories in nine tournaments that season. Freshman sensation Sharon Barrett won an AIAW record five straight individual titles in her first five tournaments. In only the sixth year of the women's golf at Tulsa, the Hurricane captured the AIAW National Championship with a 13-stroke victory over second-place and defending champion SMU.