Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com

Track And Field Opens Indoor Slate At Wildcat Invitational

Track & Field Home

Robinson's 9.99 100-Meter Dash at American Championships is the Eighth-Fastest Time in the World This Year

Men's Track and Field Places Second; Women Finish Ninth in American Outdoor Championships

Track and Field Qualifies Eight for Sunday's Finals on Day Three of American Outdoor Championships


Hurricane Track Stadium

Tulsa Hurricane on Facebook

Tulsa Hurricane on Twitter

Jan. 17, 2013


The Tulsa track and field teams will open their season on Saturday, January 19, with a trip to Manhattan, Kan., to take part in the Wildcat Invitational hosted by Kansas State. Field events will begin at 11 a.m. with the high jump and the weight throw, while running events will begin at 3:30 p.m. with the women's mile. The running events at the meet will be on a rolling schedule.

A Year Ago:

  The University of Tulsa indoor track and field teams won five events at the Kansas State Invitational at Ahearn Field House in Manhattan, Kan., on January 14, 2012.



  Done Vermaak took top honors in the 600-yard run with a mark of 1:23.97. Lauren Collette was third in the same event (1:30.23).

  On the men's side, Julian Frazier won the 300-meter dash with a meet record time of 34.60. Justin Smith finished third in the event in 35.53. Kolton Taylor took home the 60-meter hurdles title with a mark of 8.59, which was his personal best and fifth-fastest mark in school history.

  Chris O'Hare won the 1,000 meters with a meet record of 2:24.80, which was just .20 off his personal best. Teammate Andrew Heyes finished third in 2:26.04, which was the second-fastest time in school history.

  The men's mile went to the Golden Hurricane, as TU placed six runners in the top 10. Sam Masters won the event in 4:10.46, while senior Bill Martin was second in 4:11.69. Danny Thater (fifth) and Aaron Thornburg (sixth), Tim Rackers (eighth) and David Annett (10th) were all in the top 10.

  Chase Sammons set two school records in his first collegiate event. He finished second in the shot put (15.51m, 50-10.75) and seventh in the weight throw (15.00m, 49-02.50).

  Brian Tabb finished second in the 600-yard run with a mark of 1:15.32.

  Racquell Powell finished second in the 300 meters (40.53), and sophomore transfer Audrey Jean-Baptiste was third in the 60-meter dash (7.92).

  Natasha Cockram was second in the 1,000-meter run (3:07.26), while junior Erin Huddleston was second in the mile (5:06.41). Junior Jaclyn Rollins took fifth (5:13.94) in the same event.

  Hartly Carlisle finished eighth in the shot put, and her toss of 11.69m (38-04.25) was the fourth-best in school history.

O'Hare Wins 2012 NCAA Indoor Mile Title:

Chris O'Hare led wire-to-wire for eight laps and won the mile national championship at the 2012 NCAA Division I Indoor Track & Field Championships March 10 at the Jacksons Indoor Track at the Idaho Center in Napa, Idaho. He posted a facility-record mark of 4:01.66 in the finals to become the first track national champion in school history, beating second-place Rich Peters of Boston University by 0.12 seconds. He was also named a USTFCCCA First Team All-American for his efforts. O'Hare pushed the tempo early and was able to outlast his competitors in his wire-to-wire victory, most notably defending champion Miles Batty of BYU who finished third in 4:01.86. The victory also gave Tulsa 10 points towards the overall team standings, which was the most in school history at the NCAA Indoor Championships. The team finished in 18th-place overall, which was better than Oral Roberts (22nd with nine points), Oklahoma (52nd with three points) and Oklahoma State (61st with one point).

Tulsa Men's Squad Wins First C-USA Indoor Title:

The University of Tulsa men's track and field team won the 2012 Conference USA Indoor Track & Field Championship Feb. 26 at the Birmingham CrossPlex. The Golden Hurricane unseated the five-time champion Houston Cougars 139-138 to win the first league crown in school history.

The Golden Hurricane men also became the first team since UTEP in 2005-06 to win the C-USA cross country and indoor track championships in the same season. UH had claimed eight of the last nine C-USA Indoor Championships.

Tulsa trailed the Cougars by 30 points through 15 of 17 events. The Golden Hurricane leapt into the lead with a near-flawless 3,000, earning 34 points in the event and taking the lead over Houston at 133-130. Then came the final event - the 4x400m relay. Houston led the race through three legs, while Tulsa sat in fourth place. UTEP's relay team was able to pass the Cougar anchor on the final lap, and TU junior Julian Frazier passed East Carolina's anchor in the final 50 meters to secure third place. UH earned eight points in the event and Frazier's effort gave the Golden Hurricane the six points needed to win the league title outright by a mere point.

The TU women finished 10th with 30 points. The team was led by junior Done' Vermaak, who recorded eight points with her second-place finish in the 800 (2:09.60). Junior Erin Huddleston placed sixth in the mile with a mark of 4:57.53. The time was the fifth-fastest in school history. Freshman Natasha Cockram placed fifth in the 3,000 with the fourth-fastest time in school history of 9:42.29.

TU Earns Conference USA Honors:

The Tulsa track and field teams collected a plethora of postseason honors following the conclusion of the 2012 Conference USA Indoor Track & Field Championships Feb. 26. Head Coach Steve Gulley led the way for the honorees with his C-USA Men's Coach of the Year award, which was bestowed to him after he guided his Golden Hurricane to its first conference championship in school history. Six members of the men's team were named to the all-C-USA First Team, headlined by junior All-American Chris O'Hare (800, mile) and senior Paulo Pinheiro (3,000, 5,000). TU's Distance Medley Relay team captured the gold and the four members (seniors Tom Marshall and Bill Martin, sophomore Andrew Jameson, freshman Nathan Barrett) were all named to the first team. Juniors Julian Frazier (400) and Andrew Heyes (mile, 3,000) earned spots on the all-C-USA Second Team. The TU recipients of third-team honors were seniors Carl Stones (5,000), Justin Smith (4x400) and David Fitter (4x400), Frazier (200, 4x400), and juniors Sam Masters (3,000) and Matt Davis (4x400). Junior Done' Vermaak was the lone member of the women's team to earn a postseason accolade, as she landed on the all-C-USA Second Team following her performance in the 800.