Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com

O'Hare To Compete At 106th Millrose Games

Track & Field Home

Track and Field Sends Eleven to NCAA West Preliminary Round

Robinson's 9.99 100-Meter Dash at American Championships is the Eighth-Fastest Time in the World This Year

Men's Track and Field Places Second; Women Finish Ninth in American Outdoor Championships


Hurricane Track Stadium

Tulsa Hurricane on Facebook

Tulsa Hurricane on Twitter

Jan. 23, 2013

TULSA, Okla. -

For the second year in a row, senior Chris O'Hare has been invited to compete in the Wanamaker Mile against some of the elite runners from around the globe on Feb. 16 at the 106th edition of the Millrose Games.

O'Hare, the 2012 NCAA Champion in the indoor mile, will compete in the event, which will take place at 8:50 p.m. CT at The Armory Foundation's New Balance Track & Field Center in New York, N.Y. The race will be shown on ESPN, with coverage of the Millrose Games beginning at 7 p.m.

"It is definitely an honor just to be asked to run in an event like the Wanamaker Mile at the Millrose Games," O'Hare said. "It is such a prestigious event. Last year I ran it, and I didn't run very well. I was very caught up in getting the collegiate record last year. This year, I am taking an approach that I am going to run as hard as I can, and if the time comes, it comes. I am going to run to win it instead of going for a time. It isdefinitely an easier way to look at it, and a more experienced way to look at it."

Last year, O'Hare finished in sixth place and third among collegians in the event clocking in at 3:56.63. 

"It is an honor for Chris to be invited to the Millrose Games," commented Head Coach Steve Gulley. "He had a good experience last year, so he is probably more comfortable to be on the track this year. I think it is a great opportunity to run against the best, and Chris is always looking for a challenge."

The field consists of 12 total runners, three collegiate competitors and nine professional runners. The other collegiate competitors are Lawi Lalang of Arizona and Ryan Hill of North Carolina State.

The list of professionals includes defending champion Matthew Centrowitz, two-time Olympian Lopez Lomong, Robby Anders, Ryan Gregson, Donn Cabral, Ciaran O'Lionaird, Garrett Heath, Jordan McNamara, Mitch Goose and Miles Batty. Batty won the 2011 NCAA Indoor Mile title, defeating O'Hare, who claimed second, by .13 seconds. At the 2012 NCAA Indoor National Championships, O'Hare won the mile crown to claim TU's first national track title, while Batty finished in third place.



"It is going to be one of the fastest miles in the world during the indoor season," O'Hare said.  "I would be surprised if you found a faster field anywhere else."

For all Tulsa track and field news and information, visit www.TulsaHurricane.com. Follow Tulsa Athletics on Twitter at www.Twitter.com/TulsaHurricane and Facebook at www.facebook.com/TulsaHurricane. Follow Tulsa Track & Field and Cross Country on Twitter at www.Twitter.com/TulsaTrack and Facebook at www.facebook.com/TulsaTrack.