Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com

Tulsa Cross Country Squads Earn USTFCCCA All-Academic Honors

Andrew Heyes was one of four members of the TU men's cross country team to be named to the USTFCCCA All-Academic Squad
Andrew Heyes was one of four members of the TU men's cross country team to be named to the USTFCCCA All-Academic Squad
Cross Country Home

Men's and Women's Cross Country Earns USTFCCCA Academic Awards


Men's Cross Country Prepped for NCAA Championships


Hurricane Soccer & Track Stadium

Tulsa Hurricane on Facebook

Tulsa Hurricane on Twitter

Feb. 25, 2013


The University of Tulsa men’s and women’s cross country teams were named to the U.S. Track & Field Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) 2012 Division I All-Academic teams, and four members of the men’s squad earned individual all-academic honors, the association announced today. 

Andrew Heyes, Chris O’Hare, Paulo Pinheiro and Danny Thater were named to the all-academic squad, as TU, Iona, Oklahoma, Georgetown and Virginia each had four squad members named to the All-Academic list to lead the country.

The TU men’s squad boasted the seventh-best grade point average in the nation with a 3.53 average as 145 teams earned all-academic status from 30 conferences. Memphis had the nation’s best GPA with a 3.65 clip.

The women’s squad recorded a 3.4 GPA, which was the sixth-best mark in Conference USA as 200 teams from across 30 conferences received recognition. Southern Miss reported the highest team GPA at 3.79 as 11 C-USA teams earned all-academic status.

To qualify as a USTFCCCA All-Academic Cross Country Team, the team must have had a cumulative team GPA of 3.00 or better and have started at least five runners at their respective NCAA regional championship. To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have either earned USTFCCCA All-America status or finished in the NCAA region’s top 15 (or top 10 percent) in 2012.

Oregon was named the women’s scholar team of the year, while Oklahoma State was named the men’s scholar team of the year. Dartmouth’s Abbey D’Agostino was named women’s scholar athlete of the year, and Anthony Rotich of UTEP was the men’s scholar athlete of the year. 



For all Tulsa track news and information, visit www.TulsaHurricane.com. Follow Tulsa Athletics on Twitter at www.Twitter.com/TulsaHurricane and Facebook at www.facebook.com/TulsaHurricane. Follow Tulsa Track & Field on Twitter at www.Twitter.com/TulsaTrack and Facebook at www.facebook.com/TulsaTrack.