Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com

4 Land On All-Midwest Region Team

Carl Stones, Geraint Davies and Paulo Pinheiro joined Paula Whiting on the All-Midwest Region Team.
Carl Stones, Geraint Davies and Paulo Pinheiro joined Paula Whiting on the All-Midwest Region Team.
Cross Country Home

Men's and Women's Cross Country Earns USTFCCCA Academic Awards


Men's Cross Country Prepped for NCAA Championships


Hurricane Soccer & Track Stadium

Tulsa Hurricane on Facebook

Tulsa Hurricane on Twitter

Nov. 14, 2011

NEW ORLEANS - The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced today that four members of The University of Tulsa cross country team earned All-Midwest Region honors following this weekend's NCAA Midwest Regional Championship in DeKalb, Ill.

Athletes of member schools that finished in the top 25 individually at the nine regional sites earned the honor.

Headlining the Tulsa accolades was senior Paula Whiting, who tied the school record for lowest finish at the meet when she placed third. She equaled her finish from last year, which also tied Alex Becker's third-place finish from 2007.

The TU men had three athletes earn accolades, which was the most since 2008 when the team had five named to the All-Midwest Region team.

Senior Paulo Pinheiro led the way for Tulsa with his 16th-place finish in his first trip to Regionals. Junior Geraint Davies placed 23rd, which was a 21-position jump from his finish last year.

Senior Carl Stones had been climbing the ladder every year dating back to his freshman campaign, and he was finally able to crack the top-25 in his final collegiate season.

Stones finished 76th as a freshman, 65th as a sophomore and 43rd as a junior before battling for a 25th-place finish in his final year.

There were 450 athletes in all who earned All-Region awards from nine regions.

The TU men qualified as an at-large team for the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championship at 11:08 a.m. Nov. 21. Whiting will run as an individual on the women's side.

The race will be hosted by Indiana State and will be held at the LaVern Gibson Championship Course located at Wabash Valley Family Sports Center in Terre Haute, Ind.