Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com


Teammates Demarco Nelson and Shawn Jackson were named to the preseason watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Award.
Teammates Demarco Nelson and Shawn Jackson were named to the preseason watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Award.
Football Home

Tulsa Football Helmet is Part of College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience Exhibit




Skelly Field

Tulsa Football on Facebook

Tulsa Football on Twitter


CBSSports.com Football

Top 25 Rankings


July 11, 2013

Dallas, Texas - A pair of Tulsa defensive players - linebacker Shawn Jackson and safety Demarco Nelson - were named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Preseason Watch List, it was announced today by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers Association of America.

The Nagurski Trophy is awarded annually to the National Defensive Player of the Year. A total of 28 lineman, 27 linebackers and 26 defensive backs were among 81 defensive players named to the 2013 preseason watch list.

Jackson, a 6'2", 255-pound linebacker, enters his senior season with 277 tackles, 37 tackles for lost yards, 18 quarterback sacks, 12 pass break-ups and six forced fumbles in 37 career games. He has also scored three defensive touchdowns and has totaled eight double-figure tackle games in his career.

The Tulsa native needs two more sacks to tie the school record of 20 held by Dennis Byrd (1985-88) and Sedrick Clark (1992-95). Jackson also needs three more TFLs to tie Don Blackmon (1976-80) and Sam Rayburn (1999-2002) for the school record of 40 stops for lost yardage.

Jackson completed his junior season as the Defensive MVP of the AutoZone Liberty Bowl after tallying nine tackles, two sacks for -8 yards and one forced fumble in a 31-17 victory over Iowa State.

Nelson, a 6'0", 195-pound safety, enters the 2013 season having played in 40 career games. He has totaled 239 tackles, 14 pass break-ups and eight interceptions during his career. In 2012, Nelson had 80 stops, four tackles for lost yardage, three pass break-ups and two pick-offs.

The native of Glenpool, Oklahoma, Nelson was a Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) Freshman All-American in 2010. Nelson was named second-team all-Conference USA last season.

One of the players on the watch list most likely will be awarded the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, presented annually to the national defensive player of the year by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. Every NCAA Division I Bowl Subdivision conference and several independents are represented on the list that is evenly divided among linemen, linebackers and defensive backs.



Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. Once again, the FWAA will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season. If not already on the watch list, the honored player will be added at that time. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 21.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2013 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects the 25-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 9 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte.

Tulsa opens the 2013 season on Thursday, August 29 in Ohio against the Bowling Green Falcons. Game time has been set for 6 pm (CT)/7 pm (ET) and can be seen on ESPN U. The Hurricane will kick-off the home season on Sept. 7 against the Colorado State Rams with a 6:00 pm kick time.

Season tickets beginning at $78 are available online at TulsaHurricane.com or by calling 918.631.GoTU.