Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com


Tulsa safety Demarco Nelson was selected to the Jim Thorpe Award 2013 watch list.
Tulsa safety Demarco Nelson was selected to the Jim Thorpe Award 2013 watch list.
Football Home

Tulsa's Homecoming Game Time Set; Tulane Game Moves to Friday

Tulsa Football Helmet is Part of College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience Exhibit



Skelly Field

Tulsa Football on Facebook

Tulsa Football on Twitter


CBSSports.com Football

Top 25 Rankings


July 12, 2013

Oklahoma City, Okla. - University of Tulsa safety Demarco Nelson was selected to the Jim Thorpe Award 2013 watch list, it was announced today. The watch list includes 48 of the nation's best defensive backs, representing eight conferences and one independent.

The Jim Thorpe Award is one of the most coveted awards in college football. The award was established in 1986 and is named after history's greatest all-around athlete, Jim Thorpe. Thorpe excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on the offensive side of the ball, but also stood out as a defensive back. In addition to his legendary performance on the football field, Thorpe played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

Nelson, a 6'0", 195-pound senior, enters the 2013 season having played in 40 career games. He has totaled 239 tackles, 14 pass break-ups and eight interceptions during his career. In 2012, Nelson had 80 stops, four tackles for lost yards, three pass break-ups and two pick-offs. He was a second-team all-Conference USA selection a year ago.

The native of Glenpool, Oklahoma, Nelson was a Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) Freshman All-American in 2010.

Nelson and teammate Shawn Jackson were named to the Bronko Nagurski Watch List for the nation's defensive player of the year earlier this week.

The Jim Thorpe Award watch list is chosen by a screening committee who compile a list of 30-50 players. The list is not final, and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses. The Thorpe Award Winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 12, 2013 on ESPN.

The Jim Thorpe Award Banquet will be held on Tuesday, February 4, 2014 in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

Tulsa opens the 2013 season on Thursday, August 29 in Ohio against the Bowling Green Falcons. Game time has been set for 6 pm (CT)/7 pm (ET) and can be seen on ESPN U. The Hurricane will kick-off the home season on Sept. 7 against the Colorado State Rams with a 6:00 pm kick time.



Season tickets beginning at $78 are available online at TulsaHurricane.com or by calling 918.631.GoTU.

TU Players on Preseason Award Watch Lists (as of July 12, 2013)
Jim Thorpe Award (top defensive back) - Demarco Nelson
Bronko Nagurski Award (defensive player of the year) - Shawn Jackson,
  Demarco Nelson
Paul Hornung Award (most versatile player) - Trey Watts
The Maxwell Award (player of the year) - Trey Watts