Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com

Nine Tulsa Players Earn Conference USA First- or Second-Team Football Honors

Senior linebacker Curnelius Arnick ranks second in the league for total tackles.
Senior linebacker Curnelius Arnick ranks second in the league for total tackles.
Football Home


Tulsa-Oklahoma Game Time Set for 11 AM

Tulsa's Homecoming Game Time Set; Tulane Game Moves to Friday


Skelly Field

Tulsa Football on Facebook

Tulsa Football on Twitter


CBSSports.com Football

Top 25 Rankings


Dec. 6, 2011

IRVING, Texas - The University of Tulsa had four Conference USA first-team selections and five second team performers as the Conference office announced it's all-league honors today, as voted on by the league's coaches.

Tulsa's first-team selections are all seniors and include offensive guard Clint Anderson, defensive end Tyrunn Walker, linebacker Curnelius Arnick and kicker Kevin Fitzpatrick. Second-team honorees on offense are quarterback G.J. Kinne, running back Ja'Terian Douglas, tight end Clay Sears and H-back Willie Carter. Safety Dexter McCoil earned second-team accolades as well.

The Hurricane also had seven players earn honorable mention all-conference merits, including running back Trey Watts and tackle Tyler Holmes on offense, while defensive honorees include end Cory Dorris, linebacker Shawn Jackson, safety Marco Nelson and cornerback Milton Howell. Senior deep snapper Bo Abbott was named special teams honorable mention.

Three Tulsa freshmen were named to the C-USA All-Freshman team this season, including defensive end Brentom Todd, safety Kwame Sexton and punter Cole Way.



Clint Anderson earned first-team honors for the second straight season from his left guard position and is Tulsa's lone selection to the first-team offense.

The Hurricane had two players on defense earn first-team merits. Curnelius Arnick led the Golden Hurricane in tackles and ranks third in the nation in solo tackles with 91 and sixth for total stops with 142 tackles. He has turned in seven double-digit tackle games and had a career-high 19 stops at UCF. Tyrunn Walker has tallied 37 tackles this year, while leading the team in tackles for lost yardage and sacks. He has been credited with 12.5 stops for -72 yards and eight sacks for -57 yards.

Kicker Kevin Fitzpatrick, who took over the punting chores mid-season as well for the Hurricane, had the league's best field goal percentage at .857, while converting 12-of-14 field goals and 47-of-49 PATs on the year. Three of his 12 field goals were from 50+ yards, including one 51-yarder and two from 52 yards. Fitzpatrick became the school's all-time leading scorer in the final game of the regular season with 296 career points

The Hurricane had five players, including four on offense and one on defense, named to the C-USA second team.

A three-time C-USA All-Academic selection, Kinne earned all-conference accolades for the second straight year after earning first team honors in 2010. This season, the senior completed 64.1 percent of his passes for 2,876 yards and 25 TDs, while throwing for 300+ passing yards five times.

Kinne ranks second in school history for career total offense yards (10,617) and touchdown passes thrown (78), while ranking third on the school's career passing yards (9,258) list.

Sophomore Ja'Terian Douglas was the league's second-leading rusher with 836 yards for an 8.4 average per carry and four touchdowns. He had three 100+ yard rushing games on the season, including 194 yards against Marshall, 173 yards against No. 7 Oklahoma State and 137 yards against UAB. Junior Willie Carter was also a second-team selection after catching a team-leading 868 yards and seven touchdowns for the Hurricane

Tight end Clay Sears caught 35 passes for 438 yards and six touchdowns in his senior season. He had a season-best 105 yards and two touchdowns on nine receptions against UAB.

On the defensive side of the ball, junior safety Dexter McCoil grabbed second-team honors after tallying 74 tackles, six pass break-ups and four interceptions. He has now collected 11 career interceptions, just two shy of the school's all-time record.

The C-USA all-freshman team had three Tulsa rookies named to the squad as all three Hurricane honorees are from Tulsa-area high schools. Defensive end Brentom Todd (Union HS) played in all 12 games and collected 14 tackles, 4.5 stops for -17 yards and two sacks for -13 yards. Safety Kwame Sexton (Holland Hall HS) was credited with 20 tackles and had one fumble recovery on the year.

Punter Cole Way (Union HS) handled the punting duties for Tulsa's first seven contests and averaged 38.0 yards on 31 punts.

Tulsa will close out the 2011 campaign on December 30 against the BYU Cougars in the 2011 Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl. The game will kick off at 11:00 am from SMU's Gerald J. Ford Stadium in Dallas, Texas. Tickets are $40 and can be purchased online at www.tulsahurricane.com or by calling 918.631.GoTU (4688). Travel packages are available online at TUAlumni.com/bowl or by calling Spears Travel at 918-254-1608 or toll-free 800-688-8033.

QB- Case Keenum, Sr., Houston
RB- Zach Line, Jr., SMU
RB- Charles Sims, So., Houston
OL- Clint Anderson, Sr., Tulsa
OL- Kelvin Beachum, Sr., SMU
OL- Lamar Holmes, Sr., Southern Miss
OL- Matt McCants, Sr., UAB
OL- Chris Thompson, Sr., Houston
TE- Justin Johnson, Sr., Houston
WR- Cole Beasley, Sr., SMU
WR- Patrick Edwards, Sr., Houston
WR- Darius Johnson, Jr., SMU

DEFENSE DL- Vinny Curry, Sr., Marshall DL- Tyrunn Walker, Sr., Tulsa DL- Cordarro Law, Sr., Southern Miss DL- Taylor Thompson, Sr., SMU LB- Curnelius Arnick, Sr., Tulsa LB- Sammy Brown, Sr., Houston LB- Trent Mackey, Jr., Tulane DB- Omar Brown, Sr., Marshall DB- Richard Crawford, Sr., SMU DB- Marquese Wheaton, Sr., Southern Miss DB- Josh Robinson, Jr., UCF

SPECIAL TEAMS K- Kevin Fitzpatrick, Sr., Tulsa P- Kyle Martens, Sr., Rice KR- Rannell Hall, Fr., UCF PR- Tracy Lampley, Sr., Southern Miss LS- Matt Camilli, Sr., UTEP

SECOND TEAM OFFENSE QB- Austin Davis, Sr., Southern Miss QB- G.J. Kinne, Sr., Tulsa RB- Orleans Darkwa, So., Tulane RB- Ja'Terian Douglas, So., Tulsa OL- Jacoby Ashworth, Jr., Houston OL- Joe Duhon, Jr., Southern Miss OL- Ron Leary, Sr., Memphis OL- Nick Pieschel, Sr., UCF OL- Jason Weaver, Sr., Southern Miss TE- Clay Sears, Sr., Tulsa WR-Tyron Carrier, Sr., Houston WR-Willie Carter, Jr., Tulsa WR-Lance Lewis, Sr., East Carolina

DEFENSE DL- Marquis Frazier, Sr., SMU DL- Dezman Moses, Sr., Tulane DL- Dontari Poe, Jr., Memphis DL- Scott Solomon, Sr., Rice LB- Ja'Gared Davis, Sr., SMU LB- Marcus McGraw, Sr., Houston LB- Taylor Reed, Jr., SMU DB- Jamie Bender, Sr., UAB DB- Emanuel Davis, Jr., East Carolina DB- D.J. Hayden, Jr., Houston DB- Dexter McCoil, Jr., Tulsa

SPECIAL TEAMS K- Danny Hrapmann, Sr., Southern Miss P- Ian Campbell, Jr., UTEP KR- Tyron Carrier, Sr., Houston PR- Patrick Edwards, Sr., Houston LS- Charley Hughlett, Sr., UCF