Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com


Matt Mabrey won individual medalist honors at the 2014 C-USA Men's Golf Championships.
Matt Mabrey won individual medalist honors at the 2014 C-USA Men's Golf Championships.
Men's Golf Home


Men's Golf Report



Patriot Golf Club

Tulsa Hurricane on Facebook

Tulsa Hurricane on Twitter

April 29, 2014

Edmond, Oklahoma - Tulsa's Matt Mabrey and Logan McCracken switched places on Tuesday as Mabrey overtook McCracken for individual medalist honors at the 2014 Conference USA Men's Golf Championships. Mabrey came into the final round two strokes behind leader and teammate McCracken at the par-70, 6,861-yard Oak Tree Country Club, but used an even-par 70 to take first place with a 209 total, while McCracken scored a 74 for a 211 54-hole score.

Mabrey is the first Tulsa player in nine years as a member of Conference USA to win the league's individual title. His conference crown marks the 20th time in school history that the Hurricane has had an individual conference champion and the first since the 2004 season when David Inglis claimed the Western Athletic Conference title.

The Golden Hurricane team led the first two days but succumbed to tournament champion Rice's six-over par score of 286 and a three-day total of 861. 18th-ranked UAB finished in second place, one stroke behind the Owls, with an 862 total score after a round of 289 today. Tulsa finished in third place at 866, followed by Charlotte (868) and Middle Tennessee (869) rounding out the top five teams.

Mabrey played pretty steady throughout the round as he birdied holes 7 and 17 and bogeyed the 11th and 13th for his even par score. McCracken was even-par after the first nine holes as he birdied holes one and 9, but suffered a double bogey on hole 7. After starting the back nine with a birdie on the par-4 10th hole, McCracken suffered double bogeys on holes 12 and 14 and bogeys on holes 15 and 17. He birdied the 18th hole to finish the day with his four-over par score.

Tulsa's Mark Mumford placed 40th overall with a score if 225 after today's round of 76, while freshman Matthew Marquez placed 42nd carded a round of 77 to finish with a score of 226. Junior Colton Staggs struggled on the day with a score of 84 for a 230 total and 49th place.



Rice gained Conference USA's automatic NCAA bid with the league championship. Tulsa will learn its' fate next Monday, May 5th when the NCAA regional participants are announced.

Team Results
1.	Rice	        293-282-286=861
2.	UAB	        290-283-289=862
3.	Tulsa	        288-281-297=866
4.	Charlotte	291-281-296=868
5.	MTSU	        293-282-294=869
T6.	Southern Miss	298-288-300=886
T6.	UTEP	        302-292-292=886
8.	East Carolina	308-284-295=887
9.	Old Dominion	307-289-293=889
10.	North Texas	296-298-300=894
11.	UTSA	        307-289-302=898
12.	LA Tech  	304-397-301=902
13.	Marshall	306-291-311=908
14.	FAU	        310-305-317=932

Tulsa Individuals 1. Matt Mabrey 70-69-70=209 2. Logan McCracken 67-70-74=211 T40. Mark Mumford 78-71-76=225 T42. Matthew Marquez 78-71-77=226 T49. Colton Staggs 73-73-84=230

Top-5 Individuals 1. Matt Mabrey, Tulsa 70-69-70=209 (-1) 2. Logan McCracken, Tulsa 67-70-74=211 (+1) 3. Tommy Economou, Rice 70-71-71=212 (+2) T4. Victor Lange, LA Tech 68-73-72=213 (+2) T4. Kevin Reilly, Rice 70-69-74=213 (+2)

All-Tournament Team Matt Mabrey, Tulsa (medalist) Logan McCracken, Tulsa Tommy Economou, Rice Victor Lange, Louisiana Tech Kevin Reilly, Rice