Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com

TU's DeSpain, Sedivec to Compete at Rolex National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships

Women's Tennis Home

Women's Tennis Falls to Rice in First Round of NCAA Championships, 4-2

Women's Tennis Takes on Rice in Opening Round of NCAA Tennis Championships

Hurricane Tennis Earns Conference-High Eight All-Conference Selections


Michael D. Case Tennis Center

Tulsa Tennis on Facebook

Tulsa Hurricane on Twitter

Jan. 31, 2001

Tulsa, Oklahoma - Tulsa senior Jennifer DeSpain and junior Jana Sedivec will be among the top college tennis players in the nation competing at the Rolex National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships, February 1-4, at the Brookhaven Country Club near Dallas. The event, which is the third leg of the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Grand Slam, will be hosted by SMU.

DeSpain and Sedivec, 13-1 overall this season, will be competing in the women's doubles at the Rolex. The duo qualified for this year's tournament by virtue of winning the ITA Central Region title in Omaha, Neb., last fall.

The Rolex National Intercollegiate features a 32-player singles field and 16-team doubles field for men and women, including qualifiers from ITA Regional Championships held across the country during the fall, the Rolex National Small College champions, the winners of the first two legs of the 2000-01 ITA Grand Slam (the T. Rowe Price National Clay Court and All-American Championships) and at large and wild card selections made by the ITA National Tournament Committee. Overall, more than 5,000 players from nearly 600 schools participate annually in the ITA Regional and Rolex National Intercollegiate Championships.

The Rolex National Intercollegiates were inaugurated in 1978 and are being held at Brookhaven Country Club and hosted by SMU for the eighth consecutive year. Next season the event will be moved from the winter to the fall and will be played November 8-11, 2001.

The ITA Grand Slam also includes the T. Rowe Price National Clay Court Championships, ITA/Riviera All-American Championships and year-end NCAA Championships.