Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com

League Record 6 Earn All-Conference Accolades

Dean Orford was named the Conference USA Co-Coach of the Year today.
Dean Orford was named the Conference USA Co-Coach of the Year today.
Women's Tennis Home

Women's Tennis Falls to Rice in First Round of NCAA Championships, 4-2

Women's Tennis Takes on Rice in Opening Round of NCAA Tennis Championships

Hurricane Tennis Earns Conference-High Eight All-Conference Selections


Michael D. Case Tennis Center

Tulsa Tennis on Facebook

Tulsa Hurricane on Twitter

May 4, 2012

IRVING, Texas - A league-record six members of the Tulsa women's tennis team earned Conference USA postseason accolades, the league announced today.

The number ties last year's Tulsa squad and Tulane's 2004 team with the most honorees by one team in league history.

Senior Anastasia Erofeeva and sophomore Samantha Vickers led the way for the Golden Hurricane, as both members of the team were named to the All-Conference USA Singles First Team for the first time in their respective careers.

Erofeeva has earned all-conference accolades all four years of her career. She was on the second team each of the last two years, and she landed on the third team her freshman campaign. Vickers was also on the second team last season.

Senior Ewa Szatkowska and freshman Isaura Enrique were both named to the All-Conference USA Singles Second Team, while senior Bonny Davidson and junior Michelle Farley were both named to the All-Conference USA Third Team.

Szatkowska was on the third team and Farley made the second team last season. Davidson and Enrique earned their first-career laurels.

The doubles team of Erofeeva and Szatkowska were named to the All-Conference USA Doubles Second Team.

This was their second-straight honor, as the duo made third team last year.

"I'm very happy for all of our girls. They have worked hard all year and it's nice to see all the recognition from the league's coaches," Tulsa Head Coach Dean Orford said. "I'm excited to see how we perform in the NCAA Tournament this season."



Orford shared Conference USA Coach of the Year honors with Rice's Elizabeth Schmidt. This was his first time splitting the award, and he has been named coach of the year five of the last six seasons.

The Tulsa women will compete in the first round of the NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship against No. 46 Stephen F. Austin at 11 a.m. May 11 in Waco, Texas.

Dominika Zaprazna, Marshall
Courtney Collins, Memphis
Natalie Beazant, Rice
Dominique Harmath, Rice
Edyta Cieplucha, SMU
Mariam Kurdadze, Tulane
Anastasia Erofeeva, Tulsa
Samantha Vickers, Tulsa

ALL-CONFERENCE USA SINGLES SECOND TEAM Giorgia Pozzan, Houston Maria Voscekova, Marshall Stefanie Mikesz, Memphis Mariya Slupska, Memphis Tiffany Welcher, Memphis Emma Levy, Tulane Isaura Enrique, Tulsa Ewa Szatkowska, Tulsa

ALL-CONFERENCE USA SINGLES THIRD TEAM Kara Kucin, Marshall Alyssa Hibberd, Memphis Kimberly Anicete, Rice Katie Gater, Rice Elena Fayner, SMU Caroline Thornton, Tulane Bonny Davidson, Tulsa Michelle Farley, Tulsa Taylor Dubins, UCF

ALL-CONFERENCE USA DOUBLES FIRST TEAM Natalie Beazant/Dominique Harmath, Rice

ALL-CONFERENCE USA DOUBLES SECOND TEAM Anastasia Erofeeva/Ewa Szatkowska, Tulsa

ALL-CONFERENCE USA DOUBLES THIRD TEAM Alyssa Hibberd/Tiffany Welcher, Memphis

Co-Coaches of the Year: Dean Orford, Tulsa and Elizabeth Schmidt, Rice Player of the Year: Natalie Beazant, Rice Freshman of the Year: Natalie Beazant, Rice Newcomer of the Year: Tiffany Welcher, Memphis Outstanding Singles Player of the Championship: Natalie Beazant, Rice Outstanding Doubles Team of the Championship: Natalie Beazant/Dominique Harmath, Rice