Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com

TU Tennis Players Fall to Stanford, 27-19, at National Collegiate Tennis Championships

Senior Jennifer DeSpain
Senior Jennifer DeSpain
Women's Tennis Home

Women's Tennis Falls to Rice in First Round of NCAA Championships, 4-2

Women's Tennis Takes on Rice in Opening Round of NCAA Tennis Championships

Hurricane Tennis Earns Conference-High Eight All-Conference Selections


Michael D. Case Tennis Center

Tulsa Tennis on Facebook

Tulsa Hurricane on Twitter

Oct. 6, 2000

Tulsa, Oklahoma - The University of Tulsa men's and women's tennis players fell to Stanford, 27-19, at the Taube Family Tennis Stadium on the first day of the second annual WingspanBank.com/WTT National Collegiate Tennis Championships in Palo Alto, Calif.

The Stanford duo Lauren Barnikow and Lauren Kalvaria defeated senior Jennifer DeSpain and junior Jana Sedivec, 6-2, in women's doubles. In the women's singles contest, Barnikow, ranked No. 56, bested TU sophomore Aleksandra Durska, 6-3.

On the men's side, top-ranked Alex Kim got past Golden Hurricane sophomore Steve Timperley, 6-2. Tulsa earned its first points of the match when junior Shri Sudhakara teamed up with Timperley in doubles to down the Cardinal tandem of Ali Ansari and Scotty Scott, 6-3.

With Stanford leading the contest, TU cut into deficit when DeSpain and Timperley won the mixed doubles match over Ansari and Keiko Tokuda, 6-5.

Stanford secured the 27-19 victory with a 1-0 victory by Tokuda and Ansari against DeSpain and Timperley in the overtime match.

(Scoring is cumulative - each game won counts as a point towards the team score. The winner of the match will be the team that wins the most cumulative games. 'Overtime' eliminates the possibility of the final set becoming a mere exhibition. If the team ahead in the cumulative scoring wins the final game of the last set, then that team is the winner. If, however, the trailing team wins the final set, the match is sent into overtime and continues until, a) the leading team wins one game, or b) the trailing team ties the match score. If the score becomes ties, the match is decided by a 13-point Supertiebreaker. (first team to seven)