Facebook.com Twitter.com YouTube.com

Volleyball Team Earns Prestigious Academic Award

Women's Volleyball Home

Tulsa Volleyball Signs Three Junior College National Champions


Wills Adds Two to 2015 Volleyball Roster


Donald W. Reynolds Center

Tulsa Volleyball on Facebook

Tulsa Volleyball on Twitter

Aug. 14, 2000

The University of Tulsa volleyball team has been named one of the top academic teams in the country by the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA). The AVCA and Molten U.S.A., Inc. have awarded 140 colleges and high school volleyball teams the 1999-00 AVCA/Moleten Team Academic Award, announced recently by ACVCA Executive Director Sandra L. Vivas.

Recipients of the award range from NCAA Division I institutions to high school girls' and boys' teams. Twenty-one Division I, thirteen Division II, eighteen Division III, fourteen NAIA, two Junior/Community College and seventy-two high school teams are among the honorees this year.

The Golden Hurricane earned the honor with a team grade point average of 3.50. Only three other institutions at the Division I level had a higher grade point average.

This year is the inaugural year of sponsorship for Molten, U.S.A. The award honors college and high school teams that displayed excellence in the classroom by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average during the 1999-00 school year. Nominating coaches must be AVCA members.

"The AVCA/Molten Team Academic Award is truly one of the most coveted honors of all the AVCA programs. The sport of volleyball has a proud tradition of maintaining high academic performance among its student-athletes," Vivas said. "Our member coaches recognize this and the award has become a goal for all teams to strive towards on an annual basis."

This is the second consecutive year that Tulsa has won an academic team award.

"We are extremely proud of the team," said TU head coach Matt Sonnichsen. "To have the kind of commitment to the class room for an honor such as this spreads to everything you do, rather it be playing volleyball, working on homework or working in your career. This is the kind of discipline and pride that we want our team to show. We don't want to be winners just on the volleyball court, but off of it as well."

Here is a listing of the Division I award winners... Arkansas-Little Rock 3.34 Central Michigan 3.31 Eastern Michigan 3.42 Eastern Washington 3.45 Evansville 3.31 Indiana 3.44 Indiana State 3.52 Kent State 3.34 Louisiana State 3.38 Memphis 3.41 Morehead State 3.50 Nebraska 3.38 Pittsburgh 3.30 St John's 3.30 Southeast Missouri State 3.46 Stephen F. Austin State 3.37 Stetson University 3.32 Tulsa 3.50 Western Kentucky 3.60 Winthrop 3.61 Wisconsin-Milwaukee 3.37